skip navigation

The "Gunzo" Award

The GUNZO Award is given in memory of Wally “Gunzo” Humeniak to a member of the community who has unselfishly given of himself to support the vision of the Blackhawk Alumni, that of players helping players.

Wally "Gunzo" Humeniuk spent 1948 to 1955 with the Detroit Red Wings. He was traded to the Chicago Blackhawks in 1955. From 1955 to 1961, Gunzo was the Chicago Blackhawks backup goal tender and assistant trainer. In 1961, the Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup. Walter "Gunzo" Humeniuk's name appears on the Stanley Cup.

Wally "Gunzo" Humeniuk

"Gunzo" Award Honors....

Recipient Year
Pete Hassen 2017
George Lemperis 2016
Sal Ferrara 2015
Giancario Turano 2014
Mike Sugar 2013
Chef Hans Aeschbacher 2012
Jonas Urbonas 2011
Mike Mullins 2010
Jim Smith 2009
Frank Tomaselli 2008
Sam Ranzulla 2008
Wally Barabasz 2008
Bill Herriott 2007
Don LaVarre 2006
Alex McClement 2005
Keith Magnuson 2004
Jim Anderson 2003
Peter Wirtz 2002
Charles Norris 2001
Jim Koehler 2000
Moose Vasko 1999
Dale Tallon & Pat Foley 1998
Cliff Koroll & Stan Mikita 1997
Irv Tiahnybik 1996
Sal Ferrara 1995
Jack Mullins 1994
Ron Miessler 1993
Bill O'Rourke 1992
Keith Magnuson 1991
Jack Fitzsimmons 1990
William Wirtz 1989
Billy Reay 1988